What is a sister?

“She is your mirror shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness who sees you at your worst and best and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink.
Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.”

– Barbara Alpert

Although my sister is much younger than me, I love her so much. I want to cry every time I look at her. Every time she sings the stupid ‘I love you’ song from Barney, the purple dinosaur. I just want to cry. She’s so innocent. She’s so little. She has no idea about things other than her cars and favourite DVDs. I’m scared for her. I’m scared.. and I see her do little and fragile. I wish I could hug her and kiss her forever.

I have times when I’m with her and I just cry and talk.. she won’t understand, but it surely makes me feel better. She looks at me and asks me ‘Why are you crying?’

I love her. Even though sometimes I can get jealous because she gets most of mum’s attention, but she’s my baby angel.

I hope she’ll read this over years and realise how much she means to me. I promise from now, that no matter what she needs, when or/and where she needs it, I’ll be there for her. And if I could, even provide her with that thing.

I love her and I’ll haunt down the person who hurts her.

2 thoughts on “What is a sister?

Leave a Reply

