Women; the concept changed a lot

 

Recently I watched a movie, ‘The Great Gatsby’ set during the ‘Roaring Twenties’ in America. The economy soared and emotions ran high. Yet, at the same time, Prohibition was gaining traction and millionaires were made out of bootleggers.

 

The Great Gatsby is a novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald. The book was first published in 1925, and it has been republished in 1945 and 1953. The book is set within the year 1922 from the spring to the autumn and it takes place during a prosperous time in American History. In 1922, America has fully recovered from the First World War, and is enjoying prosperity.’  [1]

The movie that I watched is a 1974 movie and according to Wikipedia, the film is the third filmed version of the novel, with other versions being filmed in 1926 and 1949. Moreover, they are having another one which will be released in cinemas on December 25, 2012.

 

I really liked the movie, especially because I’m studying about America during those years. It was very easy for me to understand the setting of it, as I had background information.

I could not observe something very interesting, yet a bit irritating. This was what Daisy told her cousin Nick. 

 

“I hope she’ll be a fool — that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.”

– Mia Farrow; Daisy Buchanan

Was this what women back then wanted to be? Beautiful and.. stupid? I mean, okay, I kind of understand a bit of their mentality from reading different things, but still. Why would a woman want this?

As soon as I heard that quote I remembered a quite similar thing going on in Britain around that time, this was ‘Angel of the House’. 

The Angel in the House is a narrative poem which although largely ignored upon publication, it became enormously popular during the later nineteenth century and its influence continued well into the twentieth. Following the publication, the term ‘Angel in the House’ came to be used in reference to women who embodied the Victorian feminine ideal: a wife and mother who was selflessly devoted to her children and submissive to her husband.

 

“Man must be pleased; but him to please

Is woman’s pleasure; down the gulf

Of his condoled necessities..”

Things changed so much. Women now work, follow a specific career and give their best to become someone and to be independent. Women now have a say in the house, their opinions are taken into account. I think all women are now thankful for those changes that took place and I must say, from my own experience, reading about this is very interesting because you not only get to know how those changes happened, but you kind of put yourself in the position that women were in, in the old times.

“The first woman was created from the rib of a man. She was not made from his head to top him, nor from his feet to be trampled on by him, but out of his side to be equal to him.” 

– Based on the words of the Apostle Paul in Ephesians 5:28-33

 

[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Great_Gatsby

4 thoughts on “Women; the concept changed a lot

  1. You know of all the movies I own and have seen, The Great Gatsby isn’t one of them! I’ve always wanted to see it, but just to see the cultural gender roles would be interesting. I think it’s great, women like you appreciate the journey women have gone through. This reminds me of my one post about being equally yolked in a relationship/marriage. Not only do you want to be on the same page religiously, but also equally respected. Its sad to say, some people are still stuck in these roaring 20s, with the mentality men should be the “master” of their wife.

    Ephesians 5:22
    Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord.
    Colossians 3:19
    Husbands, love your wives, and do not be harsh with them.

  2. Hey Alexandra,

    Just wanted to personally let you know that I mentioned you in my most recent post at healthdemystified.com, because I just wanted to thank you for what you’ve done to both support my blog and inspire the world.

    I’ve also included a backlink over here to your blog, so that hopefully more people will be able to be inspired by your posts.

    -Eric

Leave a Reply

