Differences between generations

 

“8 year olds today have Facebook, Twitter, iPhones, & iPods. When I was 8, I had a coloring book, crayons and an imagaination.”

 

This is something that came up on my Twitter home page and I totally agree with it. Actually I even wrote something similar, but it was in Romanian.

 

Some obvious differences between generations:

1. Make more calls. Nowadays, we do make more calls.

2. Technology. As the quote suggests, there are many technological advances which affect people’s lives.

3. Expectations. Different generations have different expectations, whether it’s from a personal or professional point of view.

4. Dress to Impress. Compared to years ago, we do dress to impress which can be good or bad depending from the way you look at it.

5. Loyalty. Do people know what this means nowadays? I believe that its meaning changed completely.

6. Respect. Or should I say lack of respect?

7. Rewards. All they see is $$$.

8.  Meaning of money.  They not only see $$$ but they see it in a different way too.

 

These are, in my opinion, some of the obvious differences between generations. However, there are many, many others.

 

2 thoughts on “Differences between generations

  1. I love your quote at the beginning. It’s so true. I had toys you physically had to play with. We had coloring books, Tonka trucks, matchbox cars, sports, etc. Being outside and active was the thing to do! We didn’t have the distractions the kids of today have. No wonder our overweight and obesity rates are skyrocketing. When we see these numbers affecting the children, people should become conscious of what’s causing this. And technology has a huge part in it. I’ll throw in another category for you, and that is work ethic. I think work ethic has been lost at the waist side. With technology, we don’t have to work for things, as much as people in the past. It’s easy. Less effort is needed to do things now. My grandma has told me stories how she use to work at an operating station, where she would physically connect phone lines with other people so they can talk on the phone. Plus, on top of that, there were rotary phones where you physically had to strain yourself to get the call out. It was a task. Now, we can send a lifeless, impersonal, effortless text message.

  2. Exactly. I totally agree with you! I miss my childhood, it was so amazing, so simple. And as I have said before, I’m quite worried for my sister’s childhood, but even more for my own kids’ childhood.

Leave a Reply

