Why do women think they’re fat..

You may be asking yourself why I chose to write about this topic. Well, it’s because I have one of those ‘I’m fat’ moments.. again!

This got me to google things over why do women think they’re fat. That’s what I came up with.

Scientists have discovered that the body image a person projects in their own brain is “massively distorted” and can be up to two thirds wider than it is in reality. Scientists also say that thinner women have those ‘I’m fat’ moments more than fatter women. (weirdly enough it is true, because since I lost weight I get them more than before and to be honest before I didn’t really care what I ate or when)

Important info: according to a friend of mine, you can easily develop an eating disorder from that which I think I have right now too.

I have heard it a lot lately that I’m becoming Anorexic, yet I say that I am not.

Anorexia = lack of appetite.

Yes, Anorexia is an eating disorder characterized by an obsessive fear of gaining weight BUT I surely don’t have most of the signs or symptoms of it.

After researching about it I found this interesting information, which I’m going to share with you because I KNOW there are many ladies out there who have this problem.

 

  • Refusal to maintain a normal BMI for their age
  • amenorrhea: The absence of 3 consecutive menstrual cycles
  • Fearful of even the slightest weight gain and takes all precautionary measures to avoid weight gain and becoming overweight
  • obvious, rapid, dramatic weight loss
  • lanugo: soft, fine hair grows on face and body
  • obsession with calories and fat content
  • preoccupation with food, recipes, or cooking; may cook elaborate dinners for others but not eat themselves
  • dieting despite being thin or dangerously underweight
  • rituals: cuts food into tiny pieces; refuses to eat around others; hides or discards food
  • purging: uses laxatives, diet pills, ipecac syrup, or water pills; may engage in self-induced vomiting; may run to the bathroom after eating in order to vomit and quickly get rid of the calories
  • may engage in frequent, strenuous exercise
  • perception: perceives self to be overweight despite being told by others they are too thin
  • becomes intolerant to cold: frequently complains of being cold from loss of insulating body fat or poor circulation resulting from extremely low blood pressure; body temperature lowers (hypothermia) in effort to conserve energy
  • depression: may frequently be in a sad, lethargicstate
  • solitude: may avoid friends and family; becomes withdrawn and secretive
  • cheeks may become swollen because of enlargement of the salivary glands caused by excessive vomiting
  • swollen joints
  • abdominal distension
  • bad breath
  • hair loss or thinning

Source: wikipedia

Have those symptoms? Then my dear, you’re Anorexic.. or maybe not?

Many women want to be thin, ‘skinny’ because of the pressure from society. They may be misunderstanding the term of being ‘fit’ to being ‘skinny’, That is not good, because by being skinny you’re therefore unhealthy.

As I have mentioned before, have you realized that overweight women think they’re normal, while normal women think they’re fat?

It’s like WE know we’re not fat, but we have those days (like the one I’m having right now) when we get all depressed and we see ourselves as massive cows.

That’s not the reality my dear.

You are beautiful. However you look, you are beautiful. You’re thin, you’re beautiful. You’re fatm you’re beautiful. And you surely as hell don’t need to change yourself for anyone, especially the society you live in because no one’s worth it and whoever is, they will never complain about the way you look..

You’re beautiful. Keep that in mind. It is just your brain (… and mine) that’s playing games.

Leave a Reply

