Attainment Awards


“Try not to become a man of success, but a man of value.”

– Albert Einstein 

As you surely know, last night was Graduation 2012. Although I graduated last year and I’m proud of being part of class of ’11, I had to attend last night’s too because I had to pick up my award.

 

I have to say that it took me a while to get ready, as usual, but I did a good job. When I think of last year and how much money I spent on getting my hair and makeup done, I feel like banging my head against the walls. You may be asking yourself why. Well, it’s because this year I looked more beautiful than last year with all the professional makeup and hair done in the saloon. I’m good, really.

Anyway, after Mr. Lover and I got ready, we started making our way to the car. The wind tried to mess up my hair but I wasn’t planning on giving in, because it was a special night and some current (studied for Geography about this) would not ruin my mood. We laughed badly on our way and I started freaking out as well. I was more tensed than I was last year. Probably because I knew what it would happen then, but this year I didn’t.

Left the car in the care of the valet parking. The man opened my door and I truly felt like a princess. Walked inside at the side of Mr. Lover and I did have the feeling that people stared, or at least looked intensely. Went to our seats an I have to thank God for having them close to the stage, you’ll see in a bit why.

As I sat down, memories took over me. I remembered how the beautiful class of double one made its way on the stage. How it was us who were in the room next to the ballroom, how we were getting ready, taking pics and talking to our friends and teachers. It was our day. Now it isn’t anymore. I didn’t want to come back to the ballroom, even again, but because I got that award, I felt like it was my duty to come. While thinking about everything, Mr. Lover caught my look. I was tearing up. I have to admit that he tried his best to make me stop, by taking pictures of me, but it didn’t work too well, I was too emotional to let go of all those feeling.

Couldn’t pay attention at the speeches. But when the song ‘Someone like you’ was played on the piano, I reared up again.

The graduates were called one by one and I cheered and screamed for all my friends. I knew it would make me happy, as it made me happy when I graduated. Secondly, the awards were called. I thank God for not being the first one because I didn’t even know what to do.

Guess what? I got an award for French too! After all the misunderstandings i had with my teachers, I got the award? Whoa.

As they called my name, I made my way to the stage. I was shaking. I couldn’t walk properly. I was so tensed. But it all went good. I put a hand on the award and posed for the pictures. I felt like a celebrity. I was one for a couple of minutes.

Got it. Got down the stage. Walked outside. Stopped for some more pictures, while waiting for the come. The door was opened once again for me. I was the princess. I surely was.

 

Next stop, Méli Mélo, sushi time with Mr. Lover. Had so much fun. I had a great night.

 

Once arrived at home, mama hugged me and congratulated me for the awards. I saw her tear up, but I went to my room because I didn’t want us to get too emotional. Played with my sister, spent time with la familia and it was great.

A great ending to a great day.

 

Oh and how could I forget, I had an amazing sleep!

 

Congratulations class of 2012. You did it! You graduated now! You’re big! It’s your time to go out there and make a change in the world! Be positive! Fight for what you believe in! Life is not easy, but what is easy nowadays anyway?

I miss you class of 2011. You will always be in my heart. I wish we could all be close like before, but that’s life.. we can’t get everything we want.

 

God bless everyone!

 

Mr. Lover and I.

20120603-100523.jpg

 

20120603-103329.jpg

 

My award!

20120603-112515.jpg

 

Us, last year.

Class of ‘double one

4 thoughts on “Attainment Awards

  1. well, there is a lot to be said, but id rather not blabber much & be as simple as i could while expressing such a happiness. knowing that one person i care about, one person that means a lot to me has done quite a good job in such a short period under all that pressure coming up from all sides. I’m astonished rather then being shocked for those outcomes because this isn’t anything new for you to achieve no, you have always been that smart, strong & beautiful girl. i wish you all the best in your life and may god always be there for you. i will always support you.

    1. Haha! Yeh, he is amazing! We are! I can’t believe I’ve graduated and I can’t believe that this autumn I’m starting university. 😦

Leave a comment